Mission and History

Le CITSO and member municipalities

In 1983, the Québec government adopted the Act respecting intermunicipal boards of transport in the area of Montréal. CITSO was created in 1984, at which time it covered eleven (11) municipalities (prior to the mergers). Over the years, CITSO has considerably expanded its service to the public.

In 1990, just a few years after its inauguration, CITSO recorded an annual ridership of 750,000 passengers, transported by a fleet of twenty (20) buses. Almost 27 years after its creation, CITSO has more than doubled its ridership (1,975,000 million trips on more than 54 vehicles).

As a public transit agency, CITSO aims to promote and develop sustainable public transit jointly with member municipalities so as to improve the quality of life for all communities served. CITSO represents a total of 128,968 residents in four member municipalities (Châteauguay, Léry, Beauharnois, and Salaberry-de-Valleyfield) and four client municipalities (Coteau-du-Lac, Les Coteaux, Kahnawake, and SaintZotique).